Christmas in July

Last summer I saw an advertisement in the Sunday circular with the words “Christmas in July” and thought, seriously what a great idea??? I prepped Tevis that on the 25th we’d eat a big holiday meal, exchange gifts and watch a Christmas movie. Luckily, my man is just as corny as I am and he dove right in. Not only did I score a gorgeous scarf and perfume, but Bean, still in my belly, got her very first Christmas gift too – how sweet is he?
And so a tradition was born.
Christmas in July 2012-02Christmas in July 2012-01
This year we nearly forgot about Christmas in July. I texted Tevis on the 25th in a panic. We both scrambled to find little gifts. In my haste, I pulled out the red and green paper and my stapler at the office and whipped up some paper stockings (sadly, I did not have help from a kindergartener) and set out to stuff them on my way home. I only had time to stop at the drugstore, so my gifts weren’t anything extravagant or memorable.Christmas in July 2013-04

Tevis completely showed me up. If ever I doubt that my husband is actually listening when I’m talking, remind me he bought me a bundt pan for Christmas in July. How many husbands even know what that is? And this sweet book with photos and quotations about moms.

Christmas in July 2013-01
A few of my favorites:
“A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.” Sophia Loren
“If you bungle raising your children, I don’t think whatever else you do well matters very much.” Jacqueline Kennedy
“Mothers and daughters are closest, when daughters become mothers.” Anonymous
“The art of mothering is to teach the art of living to children.” Elaine Heffner

Bean scored some new toys and pretty hair bows. I hope she’ll look forward to Christmas in July every summer.

Christmas in July 2013-07

I was anxious to put my new kitchen tool to work. Plus Tevis deserved a treat to make up for my lame Christmas gifts. Bean and I had just gone blueberry picking and had mountains of berries to use up.
Blueberries 01

Blueberries 02

Blueberries 03I couldn’t find a recipe for the exact type of cake I was craving, so we free-styled this yummy Blueberry Cornmeal Cake.Blueberry Cornmeal Bundt 03

Blueberry Cornmeal Bundt 01The recipe requires some tweaking and the new pan needs more testing before its share-worthy, but that just means more cake for us. And that’s never a bad thing.

What are some of your favorite family traditions?

4 thoughts on “Christmas in July

  1. Love your blog posts! I have a good sour cream coffee cake recipe from Steve’s mom if you want the recipe for your bundt pan. See you soon! Lauren

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. I love that picture of your feet & the blueberries! Precious! You are such a sweet and creative mama – and MAJOR kudos to Tevis! (I will be showing this post to Mike.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

