I’m going on a picnic and I’m bringing…something local

We met up with some friends this weekend for a “Share Something Local Picnic”. The rain held off so we could enjoy lunch by the seashore. The kids dipped their feet in the ocean and played on the swings. There were some creative and delicious contributions to the picnic potluck – squash ribbon salad, caprese sandwiches, fresh corn salsa, and even local brews. I adore this idea of supporting local farmers and businesses.
I’ve been missing our CSA membership this summer. I loved coming home on Thursday evenings to the big green bin filled with the week’s bounty. Meals were easier to plan, because I had to figure out how to use up all that produce. I spent a lot more time in the kitchen, my favorite room in the house. It didn’t seem practical to participate in the CSA this season, since there seems to be a shortage of hours in the day now with Bean in our lives. I didn’t want to trade any snuggle time in the evenings for cleaning gritty lettuce. I haven’t totally succumbed to convenience foods. I still shop on the perimeter of the grocery store and away from all that processed junk. The boxes of organic cooking greens are a staple in my weekly shopping.
So to stop at a local farm stand was quite a treat for me.
July 2013 090July 2013 092I decided to let the fresh ingredients guide me in my meal plan. The cucumbers and radishes were calling my name. And have you ever seen a scallion this big?
July 2013 079
This sweet girl, Sierra, let me pick my own herbs and arugula.
July 2013 089
July 2013 084
With Andy Murray winning Wimbledon and all the Royal Baby talk, it seems Great Britain is on fire this summer. I thought it would be fitting to make English Tea Sandwiches with my farm stand finds. I grabbed the last of my ingredients at our corner market in keeping with the shop locally theme. I made two versions of the sandwiches, one with a hummus spread and the other with an herby cream cheese.
July 2013 095 July 2013 099

I highly recommend getting a mandolin slicer if you don’t already have one in your kitchen. They save a ton of time when slicing veggies. 

Farm Stand Tea Sandwiches

10 slices thin sandwich bread, crust removed

4 radishes, thinly sliced

1 cucumber, thinly sliced

1 enormous scallion, green and white parts thinly sliced

1 handful of fresh herbs, arugula, or baby greens

2 tablespoons of a spread of your choice – hummus, cream cheese, laughing cow spreadables

Spread a thin layer of hummus or cream cheese on each slice of bread. Take half of the slices of bread and layer them with scallions, greens, radishes, cucumbers, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Top with remaining bread slices. Cut into triangles.

These travel well and are so delicious. What other farm market veggies could you add to mix it up? The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

