I GOT YOU

I’m still recovering from an insanely busy and fun-filled family weekend. We kicked off summer with a quintessential New England fried seafood dinner, rides and live music at our town’s annual festival and a backyard cook out to celebrate Father’s Day. We laughed and danced and ate lots of good food and spent time with some amazing Dads.  Laundry and vacuuming and grocery shopping did not get done. A post about my husband on his first Father’s Day did not get published. I jotted down some thoughts in my blog notebook and took some cute pictures of Bean and her Dada.

photo03

But I just didn’t get it together in time. Monday came and went in a flurry. And now it’s just too late for a Father’s Day post. That’s so 2 days ago.

Then this morning a sign appeared and put me back on course. I realized that if there’s any hope of me keeping this blog going, I need it to be fun and to write only when I feel inspired, not because it’s another chore on my to-do list.

I owe Anthony at WEHM a huge thanks for kick-starting me each morning and for the inspiration behind today’s post. It’s usually his selection of an upbeat new tune or his cover story at 20 to nine that pumps me up for the day ahead. But today it was this song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhWQSAmXRr4 that struck me; it brought me to tears. Perhaps Jack Johnson crawled inside my head and stole these words, because this is exactly how I feel about my man.

On the night we met, Tevis asked me to dance. He towered over me and spoke slowly and in a deep voice. I’d only dated boys that smelled like soap; his cologne was intoxicating. He was handsome, funny and mysterious. I felt like Cinderella at the ball. That it was a dream and at midnight it would all be over. I thought we’d never see each other again after that night in the bar. Thankfully, I asked about him months later and he crashed a girls’ night out. We haven’t looked back since.

2Brunsons

Fast forward 10 years. We’ve been married half that time and are blessed with a happy baby girl. Tevis makes me laugh every day. He can’t get a good night’s sleep without me next to him. Though we might not look like it, we have a lot in common, from our favorite flavors to our politics. I can count on him to have my back even when I’m wrong and he’s a constant cheerleader. Tevis is an incredible father. He’s amazed by everything about her. His face lights up when she reaches for him, confirmation of their bond. There’ no other accomplishment that he’s more proud of. She has changed him forever.

I know I don’t tell him enough that he’s enough. That I love the family we’ve built together. That our home only needs to be big enough to make memories in.

Tevis, even though it’s 2 days late, I wish you a first Father’s Day you’ll cherish forever.  I hope you know that I GOT YOU. I GOT EVERYTHING.

K

2 thoughts on “I GOT YOU

  1. So, so, so sweet. Your marriage is an inspiration and Bean is SO lucky to have such incredible parents who will show her what love looks like on a daily basis, not only in the affection you each give to her, but to eachother. xo

Leave a Reply

